Skip Navigation

Keating, Haskins receive awards at NAID 2014

17 April 2014

At the conference in Phoenix, Ariz., Angie Singer Keating was presented with the 2013 Member of the Year Award and Bob Haskins received the President’s Award.

Keating has served as a director for the last two years. In addition, she has served as chair of the NAID Certification Rules Committee and co-chair of the NAID Solid State Device Task Force. Keating is one of the most active speakers and authors in the electronic data protection arena and goes to great lengths to promote the benefits of NAID and NAID Certification. 

“While there are many others who deserved consideration, in the end her contribution stood out,” said 2014 NAID President Chris Isabell, who presented her with the award at the annual membership meeting lunch.

Before announcing the recipient of the President’s Award, which was decided by the outgoing 2013 NAID President Tom Huth, attendees were reminded that it is not given out every year but only when someone qualifies.

In presenting the President’s Award, Huth said Haskins had supported NAID from the moment he entered the industry. He had previously attended every NAID conference since 1996. Huth continued by saying that over the years, Haskins had served on multiple NAID boards as both a director and officer. Despite competing unsuccessfully for the NAID presidency in 2004, Haskins continued to be active on a number of committees, even after selling his hard copy destruction business. His second company, Gigabiter, was one of the most respected electronic destruction firms in the U.S.

“In speaking his mind on controversial issues, he pushed the association to deeply consider issues related to particle size, hard drive sanitization and NAID certification,” said Huth. “And he is still doing that today as co-chair of the NAID SSD Task Force and as the chair of the NAID Deguassing Certification Task Force.”

NAID CEO Bob Johnson accepted the President’s Award on behalf of Haskins who was unable to attend the NAID 2014 Annual Conference. Johnson said the Haskins belongs among the nine other colleagues who had received the award over the last 20 years. 

“It is small group of people who have changed the industry for the better in a lasting way and Bob Haskins clearly belongs in that group,” added Johnson.